About Nell

She’s back!!

Hi! Have you forgotten about me? I wouldn’t be surprised if you had, because my presence here over the summer has been appalling, and I apologize for more or less being absent. There are reasons, of course, and I’ll tell you about them in a minute. But more importantly; this post is the first step into getting back into blogging for me, and in general have a more frequent online presence. At the top of my to-do list is “plan blog schedule” β€” so after I’m done writing this, I’m getting right to that. Because I personally prefer regular updates from the blogs I read and love, so I need to practice what I preach, right?

Right. Enough of that, let me tell you what I’ve been up to since the last update which was back in June:

photo_2020-08-12_15-59-30

I told you about the new morning writing habit I’d started back in June, and I’m happy to report that I’ve kept it up. Every morning at 6, I sit down and write for three hours. I’ve done this all summer and this means I’ve actually finished three whole stories since June, and started a fourth one (keep your eyes peeled, I’ll tell you more about them in another blog post!), and won Camp NaNoWriMo in July (I wrote 50K words in one month). The reason I’m able to do this, besides getting up early, is that I have excellent writing company, something I’ve written about in a guest post, titled The Importance of Cheerleaders, over at Love Bytes. If you’ve missed it, here’s the link.

So can I get a loud cheer for morning writing, the best company, and increased productivity? πŸ™‚

plugga

Another thing I told you in my last update was that I’d signed up for online writing courses at the university for the summer. To be honest, the classes are what’s kept me so busy the last couple months that I haven’t had time to hang out with you people. I’ve read and written and analyzed until my brain threatened to pour out of my brain, but now I’m done. All those deadlines up there in my bujo spread is marked as “done.” So no more studying. Instead, blogging, and writing even more. How does that sound? πŸ™‚

ale stenar

But of course I haven’t been chained to my desk the whole summer (even though it felt like it some days.) We’ve also been out and about some…in a socially distant responsible manner and following all the guidelines, of course. We’ve been doing stuff where it’s been easy to keep a distance. Like taking a roadtrip to see Ale’s Stones, for example. Ale’s Stones is an ancient stone ship about an hour away by car from where we live, and I was in awe of the place.

So in awe, in fact, that I wrote a story taking place here, but more about that at another time πŸ™‚

vΓ€stkusten

We also went to Grebbestad on the Swedish west coast where we stayed at a hotel located on the ocean. We had a fancy 3-course dinner outside, next to the wharf, and then watched the sunset from the balcony of our suite, sipping bubbly. It was lovely! 😍

hΓ€llristningar

We also went to see the bronze age rock carvings in Tanumhede, something I’ve wanted to see my entire life. It’s a huge collection of petroglyphs, that are between 2000-3000 years old and breathtaking. Even more amazing IRL than in pictures.

diverse

I’ve also

  • had dinner next to a very old house in the neighboring town, Lund. The house is from the 1300s, and I loved it. (Can you tell I love old buildings and stuff? 😁 )
  • had close encounters with ducks who clearly weren’t aware of the social distancing rules and tried to eat my foot 😁
  • visited Smygehuk, the southernmost point of Sweden. The last picture is me standing as far south in Sweden as possible, watching out over the vast ocean.

All in all, I’ve had a super busy and productive summer, that’s been interspersed with visits to the ocean and really old things. The dream summer if you ask me 😁

Tell me, what have you been up to this summer? Done anything fun?

5 thoughts on “She’s back!!”

Leave a comment