Nell Iris

Monday update and #NaNo

7 Comments

Here’s my weekly update and Camp NaNoWriMo progress:

P1060380

As you can see, I wrote less words this week than last, mainly because I woke up on Thursday with a fever and a cold. But I managed to surpass the weekly target anyway, so I’m still way ahead.

The total NaNo word count yesterday, after finishing those 1147 words, was 16026 words. So only 4K words to go until I’ve reached my goal. According to the NaNo site, I only need to write 284 words/day to finish on time. I think I can manage that, don’t you? ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve been working on Never Before Him all week, and it seems that it will be a little longer than I originally planned. I’ve written 8700 words in the story so far, and Leon and Jerome haven’t even met in person yet, only talked online.

Jerome is an interesting character to write: he doesn’t speak, but communicate mostly in writing. It’s not because he’s unable to, but because he’s chosen not to (because of reasons). So I have to be mindful and not let words slip out, which is easier said than done. Instead of asking “what?”, I have to convey itย with body language. ย It’s fun and challenging and it has made me realize how much we depend on our words. Or even just sounds.

And that’s all for today. Keep your fingers crossed that next week’s writing update will say “I FINISHED CAMP NANO” ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great week.

7 thoughts on “Monday update and #NaNo

  1. I love this idea for a story. There’s so much you can do comparing non-verbal communication to words being spoken.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you. And I’m considering to keep him that way all the way to the end. That not even a HEA will get him talking. It’s Chekhov’s gun all over again ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oooh…I’m quite intrigued! I like that, though. Not everything people are dealing with in a relationship would be resolved in RL, so why should it in the story? I love the idea of one MC accepting all the imperfections in the other, even when they are more significant than typical.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I love the idea of accepting all imperfections, too. Because isn’t that what we all ultimately want? And I like that you’re on board. That reinforced my resolve to not whip out the magical pe*is that solves all problems ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. one of the MCs in the book series Intense didn’t like to speak either. He would write out words on people’s plams with his finger.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ohh hand holding can be very intimate.

    Like

Leave a Reply

