#RainbowSnippets

rainbow-snippets

Weekends means Rainbow Snippets-time here on the blog, since I’ve joined the Rainbow Snippets group on Facebook. According to their description, “it’s a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction—a WIP or a finished work of even 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).”

Don’t forget to like my page on Facebook or follow me on Twitter. I’d also be happy to become friends on Facebook if you’d like 😁

summer-divider-clipart-rainbow-bunting-hi-png-o1yiij-clipart

Last time on Rainbow Snippets (a couple weeks back, I needed some time off) I posted lines from a current WIP about Benji and Mr. Grunge. After struggling with it for some time, I realized it wasn’t working and I scrapped the whole thing and started over. It’s so radically different, it’s not even the same characters. I kept Mr. Grunge (whose real name is Jude, btw), and he’s the narrator in this new WIP. Benji is playing a minor part, but he’s not the love interest like I’d originally planned. Nope, Jude had other plans for his life. That’s what happens sometimes when you’re a hardcore pantser like me 😁

So here’s the opening lines of the new WIP. Working title is Jude and Vee, but that’s subject to change. In a week I’ve written about 11K words. Now, that’s what I’m talking about! Almost makes me regret I didn’t sign up for NaNo 😁

summer-divider-clipart-rainbow-bunting-hi-png-o1yiij-clipart

Three knocks on the door was all it took to demolish my carefully reconstructed world. Three raps, seemingly as innocent as rapid beats to a snare drum, but that turned out to be more like explosions.

It was Friday night and I lay sprawled on my couch after six long weeks of teaching the Rock Band Summer Program. I reveled in the blissful silence after forty-two days of constant noise, and enjoyed a glass of red wine as I read a well-loved paperback about punk music one of my kids at summer school had given me. He’d promised it would change my aversion to the genre. I’d tried to decline the gift, but found it in my guitar case after all classes were over and the kids had all left.

 

summer-divider-clipart-rainbow-bunting-hi-png-o1yiij-clipart

Some shameless self-promo before I go: You in the mood for five FREE Holiday stories? Then I’ve got just the thing for you: 

Make the Yuletide Gay: a Collection of M/M Holiday Stories

Five FREE holiday short stories by me, Addison AlbrightStephen HoppaNicky Spencer, and Amy TasukadaRelease day: November 24. Add it to Goodreads now. Did I mention that it’s free?? Happy holidays from us!! 😁

(The blurb to my story The Christmas Day Date is below the image.)

Sleigh bells ring—are you listening?

It’s that time of year again, and we have the perfect way to get you in the mood: A free anthology! Five holiday stories that are guaranteed to warm your heart, heat up your cold nights, and most importantly: Make your yuletide gay.

 

The Christmas Day Date

Two men. Changed Christmas plans. A gazillion cookies.

Lenny Painter’s idea of the perfect Christmas is sleeping the holiday away. He’s got nowhere to be, and the only item on his Santa wish list is to catch a glimpse of his cute neighbor, JJ.

Julius Jones’s carefully organized Christmas is canceled at the last minute. In a fit of rage, he rids his apartment of all holiday cheer, including the rainbow-decorated tree.

But Lenny rescues the beautiful tree from a sad demise and end up spending the afternoon with JJ. When JJ asks Lenny to celebrate Christmas Day with him, Lenny accepts.

But it isn’t a date. Or is it?

 

21 thoughts on “#RainbowSnippets

Leave a Reply

