Great to know

This week I read a book: The Writer’s Guide to Psychology – How to Write Accurately About Psychological Disorders, Clinical Treatment and Human behavior by Carolyn Kaufman. It was interesting and useful and I learned a lot.

But I’m not going to talk about the book in its entirety. I brought it up because in it, I found this really interesting fact, that’s useful for writers, and I wanted to share it:

Skaฬˆrmavbild 2017-11-04 kl. 19.10.11

So great, right??ย ๐Ÿ˜Šย If you’ve ever had a discussion with anyone on the internet, you realize how true this is. How easy it is to misunderstand when you can’t see the other person’s face or hear their tone of voice. (Which is why I overuse emojis: I don’t accidentally want to upset someone by saying “You’re crazy” when what I really mean is “You’re crazyย ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜.” Quite the difference.)

It might be the greatest tip for writing dialogue ever. So, excuse me while I go practice my newly acquired knowledge.ย ๐Ÿ˜Š

2 thoughts on “Great to know

  1. So true! Communication is further complicated by the fact that many body cues can be interpreted different ways. For example raised eyebrows can indicate surprise or questioning, so we need to take care we give enough clues the reader knows how to process the action.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

