Nell Iris

#RainbowSnippets

20 Comments

Weekends means Rainbow Snippets-time here on the blog, since I’ve joined the Rainbow Snippets group on Facebook. According to their description, “it’s a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction—a WIP or a finished work of even 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).”

I continue where I left off last week. The snippet is from my new untitled WIP, Benji is the bartender at The Broken Brick Bar (from Cinnamon Eyes), and Mr. Grunge is a newcomer.

Here are the previous snippets if you need to catch up: 1 | 2

“Soda water with a wedge of lime, please.” Mr. Grunge was well articulated and polite. Benji approved. Tucking dark coffee locks behind his ears, Mr. Grunge looked up. Pain shone from big caramel eyes, framed with thick, sooty lashes, and and hit Benji right in the stomach, as if someone had head-butted him while wearing a football helmet.

Oups, I think I cheated and only gave you five sentences! Sorry 😇

You can find me on FacebookTwitter, or Goodreads. Feel free to stop by and say Hi! I love new friends!

I’ve also gotten a Facebook profile for my pen name, so if you feel like it, I would love to be your friend 🙂

20 thoughts on “#RainbowSnippets

  1. Aw, now I want to know what’s causing that pain. Poor guy… 😔

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohhh–dark coffee locks ❤ beautiful sniippet 🙂 I need to know more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wonder what has him so torn up.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like there’s alone going on beneath the surface here

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, I’m quite smitten by those eyes myself! (heart) Beautiful description!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. With every snippet I want to know more about Mr. Grunge.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ah, Mr. Grunge. Why is he in pain? I want to know!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You know it’s love when someone else’s pain makes you feel like you were butted in the head with a football helmet 🙂 Seriously love that metaphor.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You’ve just got me even more hooked. More please. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: #RainbowSnippets | Nell Iris

Leave a Reply

