Nell Iris

#RainbowSnippets

18 Comments

Weekends means Rainbow Snippets-time here on the blog, since I’ve joined the Rainbow Snippets group on Facebook. According to their description, “it’s a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction—a WIP or a finished work of even 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!).”

summer-divider-clipart-rainbow-bunting-hi-png-o1yiij-clipart

Cinnamon Eyes was released yesterday. Yay! Celebration time!

giphy.gif

(Seriously, though. Whoever invented confetti didn’t think that through properly. It’s sooo hard to clean up! 🙂 )

Anyway. This week’s snippet continues where we left off last week. Cory and Asher, alone, face-to-face for the first time in sixteen years.

And a big thank you to all of you who have commented and said it was emotional. Y’all made me very happy, because that’s what I was going for ❤️

summer-divider-clipart-rainbow-bunting-hi-png-o1yiij-clipart

Pale green eyes bored into me, peering all the way into my soul. I drew in a shuddering breath, and the confession spilled out of me. “I’ve missed you.”

The words hardly escaped my lips before I was wrapped up in his strong arms. Our bodies fit perfectly together, with my head right under his chin. I wound my arms around his waist. As I did, his shirt slid up, and my hands came in contact with naked skin.

Warmth rushed through my fingertips and heated up my body. My appetite had vanished as the depression set in, and I’d lost nearly thirty pounds over the last year, leaving me constantly cold. Here, in his embrace, was the first time I wasn’t freezing in a long time.

summer-divider-clipart-rainbow-bunting-hi-png-o1yiij-clipart

ce w reviews on releasedate

Cory and Asher’s reception has so far been great, making me a very proud and excited book mama. I set out to write an emotional story with an intense reunion, and I’m happy I succeeded 🙂

Buy links: 
JMS Books | Amazon US | Amazon UK | iBooks | Google Play | B&N | Kobo | Smashwords

summer-divider-clipart-rainbow-bunting-hi-png-o1yiij-clipart

You can find me on FacebookTwitter, or Goodreads. Feel free to stop by and say Hi! I love new friends!

I’ve also gotten a Facebook profile for my pen name, so if you feel like it, I would love to be your friend 🙂

18 thoughts on “#RainbowSnippets

  1. I love that last line. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a good-for-the-soul way to warm up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aww, I love how perfectly I can imagine this scene—picture being in Cory’s shoes—with your lovely description! ♡

    Congratulations on the new release! 🎊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can “see” these characters so clearly. I loved that snippet

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awww… I think he’s feeling warm in more ways than one.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, this was lovely. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such a beautiful last line! (heart)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy New Release!
    What a beautiful scene. I can feel the love between them.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Loved the simmering emotions in this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

