Nell Iris

Update

4 Comments

Last week was hellish. I was so busy, I hardly had time to sleep. Don’t get me wrong, I did a lot of fun stuff, but my days were filled from morning to late night.

divider blue

But first some awesome news: y’all remember the Christmas story I wrote back in March/April? Red Popcorn Strings and Gumball Rings? I submitted it to Dreamspinner Press and their Advent Calendar submission call…and I GOT ACCEPTED!

YAY!! *doing the happy dance*

RPSAGR is about two young men who’ve loved each other for a long time, ugly Christmas Trees, and how to make Christmas merry despite not having much. Here’s some inspirational pictures:

RPSAGR

The boys that inspired me (though Ellis is younger than the lovely man in the picture), the gumball rings, a sad looking Christmas tree, and popcorn dyed red.

divider blue

So, why was I so busy last week, you might wonder? Well, here’s what I did:

  • Two rounds of edits and one proof for Cinnamon Eyes
  • Filled out a gazillion forms about my story for Dreamspinner Press. Okay, it was only two, but it felt like a gazillion and they were time consuming
  • Critiqued the writing of two writer friends
  • Planned a really fun project with three writer friends. You’ll get more information about it later, but needless to say, I’m excited
  • Tried to keep up with my NaNo word count. I’m sad to say that I had to lower my goal from 20K to 15K or I would have been screwed, but on Friday night I reached my goal. Yay!

Phew. I think I’m going to spend this week flat on my back on the couch.

And finally: when you get this reaction from your editor, you’ve done something right. Right? 😀

Skärmavbild 2017-07-25 kl. 22.22.07

 

4 thoughts on “Update

  1. You have had a very productive week! I had to severely reduce my NaNo limit, too, and I still might not make it unless I can pull out a miracle today. So kudos for pulling it all off. 😀

    I ♡ that line from the story‼️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I didn’t like starting out at a disadvantage (stupid cold that invaded my writing time) so I’m really happy I managed it.

      And you can do it. And if you need motivation, I’m sure there will be sprinters in the cabin today. There always are 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. such a productive week! you can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

