Nell Iris

#RiotGrams day 26

3 Comments

RiotGrams-Challenge_June-2017-768x768

In June, I’m partaking in a bookish Instagram challenge here on the blog. Pictures are required (because Instagram), so I’ll post a pic with some explanation or other every day. The challenge is courtesy of Bookriot. And if you’ve got Instagram and want to see what other people come up with, just check #riotgrams.

26 – Childhood Read

P1060875

As a Swede, I have Astrid Lindgren in my blood. Maybe that’s not as common these days as it was back when I was a kid considering all the options available out there. Millions of channels on TV. YouTube. Computer games. But when I was little, we were raised on a steady diet of Astrid Lindgren.

I especially loved watching her on TV, reading her own stories. She was a lovely old lady, with a very distinct voice. Check her out here, when she reads from Mio, my Son. It’s in Swedish, but watch her for a couple of seconds. Wasn’t she fabulous?

Astrid Lindgren is a big part of our legacy. I’m going to be 45 in a few short months and I still love her writing. And while I loved Pippi, Emil, and all the other children she wrote about, three of her books have a special place in my heart.

Three fantasy books, instead of her usual “contemporary” writing (if Pippi, the strongest girl in the world can be considered contemporary):

It’s very unusual for me to prefer fantasy over contemporary, but I loved the worlds Astrid created with her writing. I wanted to be Ronja, the wild child, who always did the exact opposite of what she was told, and who stood up to her father when he was being bigoted and a bully. I was terrified of the evil Knight Kato that Mio had to fight in Mio, My Son. And I wanted to be brave and go to Nangijala, like the brothers Lionheart.

When my daughter was little, I bought her all of Astrid Lindgren’s books, and I continue to gift them to my friend’s kids. Books are the most important thing in my life. It transports me to a magical world where even small, sickly children like Karl Lionheart can be brave and amazing.

And Astrid Lindgren was especially great at writing stories about courageous, wonderful children, who stands up for what’s right and dare to be themselves. Her characters continue to be role-models, and her books have helped shape me into who I am today.

Also in the above picture is my most beloved friend, who sleeps with me every night. He’s named after Winnie the Pooh’s friend, Tiggr (he’s not great at spelling, so he forgot the “e” 🙂 )

What’s your most beloved childhood read?

3 thoughts on “#RiotGrams day 26

  1. The Pippi books are the only ones I’ve read, but I remember loving them. I need to buy them for my grandkids. Love your Tiggr! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

