Nell Iris

#RiotGrams day 24

1 Comment

RiotGrams-Challenge_June-2017-768x768

In June, I’m partaking in a bookish Instagram challenge here on the blog. Pictures are required (because Instagram), so I’ll post a pic with some explanation or other every day. The challenge is courtesy of Bookriot. And if you’ve got Instagram and want to see what other people come up with, just check #riotgrams.

24 – Tiny Books

P1060859

This is my favorite poetry book. It’s by a Latin poet called Gaius Valerius Catullus, who lived 84-54 BC. I studied Latin in high school and that was how I came in contact with him.

He wrote lots of love/hate poems to a woman he called Lesbia. Her real name is thought to be Clodia, and she was an aristocrat in Rome, married to a prominent man. Catullus’ relationship with Lesbia goes through all phases in his poetry, from euphoric infatuation to the bitter writings of a disillusioned man with a broken heart.

He also wrote a lot of dirty poetry…which is probably why I like him so much 😀

It’s the tiniest book I’ve got (at least when it comes to matters of size) It’s neither thick nor tall. Want proof?

P1060863

Can you see it? The small black one to the right of Shakespeare’s sonnets?

P1060862

I know this poem in Latin. By heart. I learned it in school, because one of the assignments was to translate it from Latin to Swedish.

Odi et amo. Quare id faciam fortasse requiris.
Nescio, sed fieri sentio et excrucior.

Isn’t it beautiful? And I swear I wrote it without googling it. I even know the correct punctuation 😀

Do you like poetry? Who’s your favorite poet? 🙂

One thought on “#RiotGrams day 24

  1. That is a lovely line. I like poetry in moderation. I’d be hard put to sit down and read a full book of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

