Nell Iris

Life signs and blurbs

Leave a comment

Hi everyone. Just wanted to say that I’m alive. It feels like forever since I was here on the blog. I know it might not seem that way, considering I’ve been posting something every day (almost, with the exception for the 11th) this month, but that’s the magic of pre-written, scheduled blog posts, my friends.

In reality, I’ve been far too busy to blog, so good thing I decided to do that challenge! It all started on May 27th with the release of Find His Way Home. A new release is fabulous and fun, but also stressful and lots of work. On June 1st I wrote and scheduled almost all blog posts for the #RiotGrams challenge, and after that I’ve been writing like a fiend to finish my WIP, The Boy With Cinnamon Eyes. 

It took me thirty days to write Cinnamon, and it’s approximately 35K words. That’s a lot of writing in a short period of time.

Which is why I’m not doing any writing this week. I’m recharging my batteries and all that. And since Cinnamon is with my most trusted beta, there’s not much I can do anyway. Except for writing the blurb, of course.

I decided I’d go about that differently this time. Let’s face it: my tried and tested process of obsessing about how difficult it is to write a blurb for two weeks, try to write it and fail miserably, and then drown in anxiety for the next two weeks before finally producing anything—like I did with the Christmas story—wasn’t all that great 😀

P1060979

Instead, I wrote down a bunch of words I associated with the story. Then I made those into sentences that didn’t have to be connected, just related to the story. And then I cut them up so I can play around with them. That’s what I’m doing at the moment.

I have no idea if it works yet, but it’s giving me a lot less anxiety which is great. Wish me luck! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

