Nell Iris

#RiotGrams day 20

5 Comments

RiotGrams-Challenge_June-2017-768x768

In June, I’m partaking in a bookish Instagram challenge here on the blog. Pictures are required (because Instagram), so I’ll post a pic with some explanation or other every day. The challenge is courtesy of Bookriot. And if you’ve got Instagram and want to see what other people come up with, just check #riotgrams.

20 – Celestial/Solstice

P1060846.jpg

I prefer to watch sci-fi over reading it, but this book is awesome.

However, I hate it when a book is rereleased with the movie tie-in cover. Why oh why, do you do this, publisher people?? Look at the original cover. Sooo much better, don’t you agree?

Movie tie-in covers, yay or nay? 🙂

5 thoughts on “#RiotGrams day 20

  1. I love the movie, so I should read the book. I’d hate to make a blanket opinion on tie-in covers. For me, it probably depends on the which I liked first, and which is prettier.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww, cr*p, I’m very judgmental, aren’t I? I should totally stop with that. But to be fair: How many movies have you seen that were better than the book? I always like the book better 🙂

      With one exception. Have you seen the movie Dangerous Liaisons with Glenn Close and John Malkovich? Fantastic movie, I’ve seen it a million times. It’s based on a French book “Les Liaisons dangereuses”, by Pierre Choderlos de Laclos and was written in 1782. I was so sure I was going to love it. I mean the movie was great and everyone knows the books is always better than the movie, right? And I love classic literature (for the most part), and as the icing on the cake it’s an epistolary novel which I LOVE reading!

      My local library had it, but in storage, so I made them go get it for me. The library worker was away for like 30 minutes digging through their storage shelves and when she gave me the book, it was all dusty. 😀

      But OH. MY. GOSH. Addison!! It was so boring. To this day, I have no idea how they managed to create such an excellent movie from it. It wasn’t bad, but where the movie keeps you at the edge of your seat the entire time, thinking “OH NO!! This is going to end in disaster”, the book did nothing for me. It was boring. Tedious. And every other synonym for boring you can think of.

      Fun story: I re-watched it recently on a flight from Sweden. I sat next to an Australian woman who was watching a comedy and I was watching Dangerous Liaisons. When the stewardess came to give us our food she just stared at us. My seat mate guffawed so loud people were glaring at her. And next to her I bawled my eyes out. Can you imagine the sight? 🙂

      And btw: if you haven’t seen the movie, you really, really should!!

      (And here’s the proof that I’m currently not knee-deep in a tight deadline: I have time to write essays for comments again 🙂 )

      Like

      • There are several books I read after loving a movie, and while I probably ended up loving the book more, I was better able to appreciate the differences between the two than if I’d gone in the opposite direction. There is one book, and I wish I could think of the name of it, that I absolutely hated after watching and enjoying the movie first. I couldn’t even finish the book. It’s very highly acclaimed, too, and most people seem to prefer it to the movie. I can’t fathom why. It lost me after a gazillion-page description of an effing lamp.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

