Nell Iris

#RiotGrams day 18

6 Comments

RiotGrams-Challenge_June-2017-768x768

In June, I’m partaking in a bookish Instagram challenge here on the blog. Pictures are required (because Instagram), so I’ll post a pic with some explanation or other every day. The challenge is courtesy of Bookriot. And if you’ve got Instagram and want to see what other people come up with, just check #riotgrams.

18 – Book That Made You Cry

1060893

I think I cried for forty-five minutes straight at the end of this book. It wasn’t a pretty sight, and my husband threatened to forbid me to buy more books if I was going to be that unhappy 😀

Then I cried when I watched the movie, even though I knew what was going to happen.

When I was younger I didn’t cry when I read books. I cried to everything else: movies, TV-shows, commercials, Oprah, music…anything and everything, except books. But one day in my thirties it was like someone had opened the faucet and gone are the days of not crying while reading.

I try to hide it from my husband, because he gets a kick out of teasing me for it. Is it a bad book? A bad, bad book? Shall I put it in the freezer? 🙂

(If you didn’t get the freezer-reference, it’s from Friends. And btw: The Shining totally belongs in the freezer 🙂 )

Are you a crier when you read?

6 thoughts on “#RiotGrams day 18

  1. I’ve been known to cry reading a good book (The Time Traveler’s Wife comes to mind).

    Heh, it’s a children’s book, but I was never able to read this book aloud to my kids without literally bawling by the end of it. Needless to say, they chose the book frequently just because. The illustrations in this version stayed me: https://www.amazon.com/Little-Match-Girl-Andersen-Isadora/dp/B001JEFY2U/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read that edition. But I had a storybook when I was a kid with HC Andersen fairytales, and this story was in it. I was devastated when I read it. And The Little Mermaid. Have you read the original story?? Terrible!!

    He clearly didn’t believe in HEA, that man! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

