Nell Iris

#RiotGrams day 16

3 Comments

RiotGrams-Challenge_June-2017-768x768

In June, I’m partaking in a bookish Instagram challenge here on the blog. Pictures are required (because Instagram), so I’ll post a pic with some explanation or other every day. The challenge is courtesy of Bookriot. And if you’ve got Instagram and want to see what other people come up with, just check #riotgrams.

16 – Set Near Where You Live

P1060835

I admit, this is pretty lame. We got this book as a gift from our friends when we moved here in 2012 and I haven’t used it once 😀

So, let’s talk about something more interesting. Last week I got an email from a very nice person, saying they thought of me when they read this submission call and asked if I’d considered writing a story set in Malaysia.

To be honest: I haven’t. Mainly, because the longer I live here, the more I realize how complex the culture is, and I would be afraid of misrepresenting it. For example: only about 50% of the population are actually Malay. The rest are made up of different ethnic groups where Chinese make up more than 20% of the population. Indians are a big group, too, and then there’s other ethnic groups making up the rest.

To say that the relations between the groups are complicated, is an understatement. There’s a lot of open racism between the three biggest ethnic groups. For example: as I stepped into a taxi once, the driver said Sorry if it smells bad in here, I just had an Indian customer.

My facial expression to that comment: 😳

So no. I hadn’t thought about it. Until I got that email. It kicked my brain into gear and I started thinking What if…?

I still haven’t decided, because there’s another—more practical—issue to consider:

Skärmavbild 2017-06-13 kl. 12.40.42

I’m a pantser, guys. And last time I tried to plan and write an outline it all went to shit. So sending in a synopsis that I have to keep to when I write…I’m not sure about that.

I don’t know. I’ll have to think about it for a little while longer. Got any advice? 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “#RiotGrams day 16

  1. As a fellow pantser, I feel your pain. The instructions mention a brief synopsis to go with your claim. How often does the overall idea of your story change from the original intent? Maybe you could cross your fingers Malaysia doesn’t get snapped up while you take a week to writing an opening chapter to get your ideas flowing and maybe the plan will reveal itself?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol, this is a very bad time to ask your question, considering what I just sent you. That story turned out completely different from what I’d originally planned. Don’t get me wrong, I like it better this way and the way it turned out added another layer of depth…but what you got was NOT anywhere near my first loose plan.

      And come to think of it: Find His Way Home also changed. First I thought that Elliot would return home and meet someone there and fall in love with. But after I wrote the first chapter, I liked Mick so much, even though he was closeted at the time, so I wanted to keep him. And well, we know how that turned out 🙂

      I don’t think Malaysia will be snapped up. This subcall has been around for a while. I’m toying with an idea of taking a chance and write the whole story first…and then send the synopsis. Idk. I have stuff planned for NaNo in July and I’m giving myself August off, so this wouldn’t be until September. I guess I have time to think about it. And if Malaysia is taken by then…so be it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

