Nell Iris

#RiotGrams day 13

4 Comments

RiotGrams-Challenge_June-2017-768x768

In June, I’m partaking in a bookish Instagram challenge here on the blog. Pictures are required (because Instagram), so I’ll post a pic with some explanation or other every day. The challenge is courtesy of Bookriot. And if you’ve got Instagram and want to see what other people come up with, just check #riotgrams.

13 – Freebie!

P1060867.jpg

I’m a member of the M/M Romance group on Goodreads, and during summers they used to have these events where readers came up with a prompt for a picture and authors claimed the prompts and wrote a story about it. And then the book was available for free for all the members in the group.

The M/M Romance group didn’t hold an event like that last year, unfortunately, and I don’t think there’ll be one this year either. Too bad, I love them. It’s a great way of discovering new authors.

That’s where I found this gem, Mr Wonderful by Willow Scarlett. I loved that book so much that after I finished it, I bought every other book the author had written, too. And several of them have been solid five-star reads.

What I love about this author, is the quirky characters. There are no macho firefighters or tragic police officers. No, the characters are gender queer or punks or artists or outcasts or generally weird. What they all have in common is that they’re all interesting.

I’ve come to understand that it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, though, so maybe try this freebie first. But definitely give Willow Scarlett a try!

Has that ever happened to you? Trying a freebie and loving it so much, you devoured the author’s other books, too? If yes, I’d love to hear about it! 🙂

4 thoughts on “#RiotGrams day 13

  1. I am drawn to book for the same reason! While I don’t object to macho characters (unless they’re one-dimensional), I love books with everyday people and with unusual people. Basically, it’s about how interesting/appealing the character is.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

