Nell Iris

#RiotGrams day 12

Leave a comment

RiotGrams-Challenge_June-2017-768x768

In June, I’m partaking in a bookish Instagram challenge here on the blog. Pictures are required (because Instagram), so I’ll post a pic with some explanation or other every day. The challenge is courtesy of Bookriot. And if you’ve got Instagram and want to see what other people come up with, just check #riotgrams.

12 – ‘Summer’ Reads

P1060833

Since it’s summer in Malaysia all year long, I just grabbed two books I really love and photographed them by the pool. 🙂

Eleanor & Park is a YA novel (straight romance, I used to read those back in the day 🙂 ) by Rainbow Rowell. I have three words for it: ALL THE FEELS.

It’s set in the 80s and the characters bond over music and it’s music that I listened to in my youth, which I guess is one of the reasons I loved it so much. But if I think about it, it’s a dreadful choice for a “summer read”. Aren’t those supposed to be uplifting and happy? If that’s what you want – then no. Otherwise I recommend it.

I love The Sonnet Lover by Carol Goodman because sonnets. And Shakespeare. And Italy. What more reasons do I need? And that one will work on a sun bed by the pool or the beach, that’s a promise 🙂

Do you read any special books in the summer?

Leave a Reply

