Nell Iris

#RiotGrams day 5

4 Comments

RiotGrams-Challenge_June-2017-768x768

In June, I’m partaking in a bookish Instagram challenge here on the blog. Pictures are required (because Instagram), so I’ll post a pic with some explanation or other every day. The challenge is courtesy of Bookriot. And if you’ve got Instagram and want to see what other people come up with, just check #riotgrams.

5 – Something Magical

P1060796

Once upon a time, there was a mother in Sweden who bought a book about a wizard boy for her daughter. The child was very young and couldn’t read, but the mother loved giving books to the girl, and thought she could always read it when she grew older. But the mother was curious about what all the fuzz was about the boy wizard, so she read the book. That way she could decide if maybe she could read it aloud to her young child.

The mother liked the book very much and thought it best to buy the second book in the series as well. One has to have all the books in a series, she thought, and then she read that book, too. She wanted to make sure that the quality was still good.

When the third book was released, it took some time before it was translated to Swedish. The mother didn’t want to wait, so she bought book number three in English. For her four-year-old daughter. That was when the mother was forced to admit that the books had been for herself all along, despite what she’d been telling the world.

The mother also bought books 4-7 for herself in English and the daughter grew up and preferred the movies.

The End

I love Harry Potter. I love the fantastical world JK Rowling has created, I love the creativity, the ingenuity, and…well. It’s probably easier to say that I love everything about it.

And while Harry Potter’s world is a magical one, that wasn’t why I chose the books for this post. No, a while back, I came across an article about a baby who was born prematurely (at 23 weeks, weighing 1 pound) and they didn’t think she would survive the night. Her desperate father started reading out loud to her, and what he chose was Harry Potter.

When he read to her, she did better. She was stable. And as soon as he stopped, her oxygen levels dropped and all the alarms went off, and the nurses urged the father to continue reading. He did, of course.

This story has a happy ending. The little girl lived, just like Harry. JK Rowling heard about her and sent her a gift: all her books. Signed and dedicated to “The Girl Who Lived.”

It’s a fantastic story. Read the article in its entirety here. I cried the first time I read it, and I cried today when I reread it.

And THAT is why I chose Harry Potter for this post. Because words and stories are magical and truly make the world a better place. I believe this with all my heart.

4 thoughts on “#RiotGrams day 5

  1. One of these days I’m gonna read them, I swear. Especially since I love the author’s Twitter jabs so much on top of feeling so left out.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It only took your daughter years to read the books because the Swedish translation sucks haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

