Nell Iris

Monday update

3 Comments

Hi everyone. I know I’ve been a little silent lately, but I’ve been feeling really off. I’ve hardly written anything for two weeks, I’ve felt like all the words have run out.

I think I need to watch less news. It upsets me and screws with my creativity. But on the other hand, it’s difficult stop watching, considering the current climate. I don’t know what to do. Any suggestions?

However: I feel a little better today. It might have something to do with the fact that I wrote 2K words yesterday.

I also wrote some lyrics. One of my MCs (in WIP#2 I’m currently working on) is a songwriter and he’s written a very special song for someone very special.

Do you know how freaking difficult it is to write lyrics? Luckily the MC isn’t a big star or anything, so the lyrics don’t need to be Billboard material. But it took me four hours or something for 171 words. Adding to that was equally many hours the other day when I came up with the structure and the concept.

So eight hours in total for 171 words. Not even 21,5 words/hour. Songwriting is hard. And I’ll probably rewrite it, but it’s a start.

P1060395

Writing lyrics requires pen and paper.

Other than that I’m done with the editing for the Christmas story. I’ve had it out for three rounds of beta-reading, had an intense discussion about loose ends, and edited, edited, edited. But I’m happy with the result now, and all I have left to do is write a blurb and a summary and then it’s ready for submission.

So maybe not so lazy after all?

Have a great week.

Oh, I almost forgot. Five more days until Find His Way Home!! I’m excited!

fb cover preorder

Preorder links for Find His Way Home:
JMS Books | Amazon US | Amazon UK | iBooks | Google Play | B&N

3 thoughts on “Monday update

  1. I don’t think I’d even attempt to write lyrics, so I bow down to your awesomeness doing that!

    I’m in a writing slump, too. I think I needed some downtime after the April Nano. At least I usually come back strong after a break.

    Yay for getting the Christmas story completed. I still haven’t started mine. :-/

    Like

    • I understand. I was also drained after Nano. It seems to happen to me after I finished something, or had an intense writing period. Maybe I just need to accept that it’s how I work and stop pressuring myself. Anyway. I seem to be back in the flow at least. which is great.

      I hope your slump ends soon. It’s frustrating to be in a slump!

      And do you have your idea for the Xmas story? We’re gonna dominate the DSP advent calendar this year, you and I, so I hope you have time to write it ❤

      Like

  2. Pingback: Music of my youth | Nell Iris

Leave a Reply

