Nell Iris

#CampNaNoWriMo result

6 Comments

So. That was April? I can’t believe how fast it swooshed by!!

I’ve already told you I won NaNo (yay!), but I thought I’d show you the final result:

20170501_234043

As you can see, I’ve been shamefully lazy this last week, but I promise I have a good reason! My husband is a hot-shot global support manager, who manages people all over the world, across all time zones (from Japan to the US) meaning his work hours are weird and insane. He works a lot, people! ButΒ last week he actually managed to get a few days off, and I wanted to spend them with him when I had the chance.

Ergo: very little writing. I probably would have worked harder if I hadn’t already reached my goal, but now I chose to take a few days off instead. Marriage before writing, and all that! πŸ™‚

I didn’t actually take all those days off, though, so I’m not as lazy as it seems. I just didn’t write anything. I still did research and came up with backstories for the MCs in my next story, but that doesn’t count for NaNo.

So. Final word tally: 25856 words. That means I can easily reach 30K in a month, so if I decide to go ahead and sign up for Camp in July, too, I’m gonna set 30K as my goal.

My current WIP, Never Before Him, isn’t done, so I’ll keep working on it. It’s currently at 20K and I’m nowhere near done! Holy crap, it’s gonna be long. Or at least a lot longer than what I usually write πŸ™‚

I have to say I really enjoyed taking part of Camp NaNo.Β I can see myself doing it again. See you in July?

And congratulations to my writer friend Addison who also reached her goal. We rock! πŸ™‚

Have a great week! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “#CampNaNoWriMo result

  1. Great tally, especially considering you had 13 days without writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, yes, you’re right. I didn’t actually count the days, so I didn’t realize it was so many. That means I could probably do regular NaNo in November if I put my mind to it. Hm. Interesting πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I bet you could! Give it a try. I think there’s another camp in July, too.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yes, I plan on doing Camp in July. Are you in? πŸ˜‰

          Regular old November 50K NaNo…I’ll have to think on that. 50K words is a loooot of words!

          Liked by 1 person

          • I think I will do the July camp. Turns out a reasonable daily goal motivates me. I made a spreadsheet to try to force myself to keep the same pace through May, too. πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

            • Lol, I made a spread sheet for May too, yesterday! πŸ™‚ (And I used excel for this one, not the old paper-and-pen-method πŸ™‚ )

              I was also motivated by keeping track of my daily word count like that. But like you said: it has to be reasonable. Which is why it felt great that I managed 2,6K words yesterday after last week’s laziness πŸ™‚

              And yay for July-camp. Let’s rock that one too πŸ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

