Nell Iris

My war on the Oxford comma

7 Comments

I started editing Find His Way Home today (since my fabulous beta was faster than lightning and finished in a day!!)

Editing resulted inย some a lot of cussing and this tweet:

ska%cc%88rmavbild-2017-02-16-kl-19-00-24

My poor beta always has to add all the Oxford commas (and then some), since the rules for how to use commas in Swedish and English are very different.

(In Swedish the “and” replaces the need for a comma, we don’t use both. And spare me the funny memes, I’ve argued against them until I was blue in the face. It doesn’t work that way in Swedish ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Anyway. After I was done unloading my frustration on Twitter, I continued working.

Until I stumbled uponย this comment, making me laugh out loud:

ska%cc%88rmavbild-2017-02-16-kl-19-03-59

She knows me so well! ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “My war on the Oxford comma

  1. LOL. You actually had a number of them in place. It gave me a chuckle, too, each time I saw one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was SO funny since I just complained about it on Twitter!! ๐Ÿ™‚ But I’m glad I’m improving ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • LOL, I noticed a place where you’d forgotten to add one. Maybe I’m rubbing off on you? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ha! Never said I was a comma expert. Pretty sure I’ve said the opposite. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        I’m ‘usually’ good with the oxford comma, and with adding a comma to separate two independent clauses. The rest gets a little fuzzy and I start pouring over the rules in the Chicago Manual of Style or say “screw it” and let the editor sort it out. The commas I generally mess with when beta reading usually fall into one of those first two categories. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lol, I know, I’m just joking. And besides, if we get all our commas right, our editors would be out of a job right? We can’t do that to them, that would be cruel! So it’s for a good cause ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

