Nell Iris

Day 29 #30DayWritingChallenge

3 Comments

What are your goals for the next 30 days

I don’t really set goals for myself like that, I prefer to take it as it comes. I almost burned myself out completely when I worked at my soul-crushing job back in Sweden, and it has taken me a long time to come to this place in time. For the longest time I felt panic if I had too many thing planned in one week, even if they were fun things. So I try to go easy on myself because I have a tendency to expect too much of myself.

I hope one day I’ll be able to do a detailed plan for the coming year, or even a month. Now is not that day.

That being said: I do have a few goals

Finish my short story Find His Way Home

I’ve sent Find his way home to my trusted betas and I await their comments and opinion. Edit: I scheduled this post the other day and had planned on sending it yesterday, but I was busy with Unconditionally so I didn’t have time. I will send it today though. As soon as I get the feedback, I’ll edit/revise and finish it so I can submit it. I need to be done by February 28th.

Plan fun stuff for the blog

I want to have fun content to publish when Unconditionally is released, so potential readers will think it’s fun to hang out with me. What do you like to read about, do you have any fun suggestions? 🙂

Decide on my next project

I have a couple of things. I’ve already started a story that’s currently on hold and I’ve had an idea for a new one for a while now. I have to decide which one to work on next. I know one thing: it’s going to be a short story. I love them, and I think I’ll devote this entire year to writing them. If nothing unforeseen happens.

Edit The Locked Room

I want to continue the editing process on TLR. It’s been put on hold the last week because I had to finish Find His Way Home. But now I’ve made room for it in my schedule.

Personal goals

Celebrate my husband’s 45th birthday and my daughter’s 22nd. Hang out with a visiting friend from Sweden. Plan a fun vacation on a nice beach somewhere.

And that’s it. Do you set goals for yourself? If yes, tell me about your goals for the next 30 days! 🙂 

3 thoughts on “Day 29 #30DayWritingChallenge

  1. Short stories are a great idea. For one thing, they can be produced faster so your fans don’t forget about you between longer books.

    I wish I had some great advice for your blog, but I’ve got nothing beyond what I’m doing for my own. Not sure how much impact it has. I’ve gotten favorable feedback from my few fans, but if the goal it to create new ones, I don’t know that it’s doing the job (I guess it doesn’t matter what one posts if nobody sees it, eh?). Anyway, you’ve already done some interesting things. This challenge, for example, is a great way for people to get to know you.

    One thing that’ll draw a lot of people is posting a giveaway on your blog after each release, maybe a week long, and advertising it on all the Facebook groups (I can send you links to a bunch of book and M/M themed groups if you don’t know them). Some will come just to enter the contest, but others will look around and end up following you. That and the Rainbow Snippets thing you just joined are both good ways to bring your blog to the attention of potential new readers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

