Nell Iris

Day 22 #30DayWritingChallenge

4 Comments

Put your music on shuffle and post the first ten songs

Put my music on shuffle? What do you mean, writer of this challenge, put my music on shuffle? Do you know how many playlists I have in Spotify? Hundreds! I take music very seriously and I have daily lists, themed lists, lists by artist, lists by…yeah, you get it, I’m sure.

So which one do I put on shuffle?

This daily post is clearly impossible, so I’m rebelling and doing it my own way. These are the first ten on the list of songs that I—according to Spotify—played the most in 2016. It was a list of 100 songs, so I don’t know if these are the ones I actually listened to the most or if’s a random order, but this way I kind of fulfill the challenge for today. Right?

Dance me to the end of love by  Madeleine Peyroux
All of me by John Legend
Lazarus by David Bowie
Look Away by Eli Lieb and Steve Grand
Life is a pigsty by Morrissey
We are the champions by Queen
Scrawled in sap by 16 Horsepower
The Mercy Seat by Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds
Tower of song (live in London) by Leonard Cohen
Praying for time by George Michael

2016

4 thoughts on “Day 22 #30DayWritingChallenge

  1. Nice list! David Bowie, Queen, and Leonard Cohen are all represented on my own favorites playlist. I’ve got a number of playlists, too, but if I went with my “favorites,” which admittedly hasn’t been updated in years, a shuffle gave me:

    1. Birds and Ships – Billy Bragg & Wilco with Natalie Merchant
    2. Cats in the Cradle – Harry Chapin
    3. Behind Blue Eyes – The Who
    4. Sunrise – Norah Jones
    5. Just the Way You Are – Bruno Mars
    6. Day Is Done – Peter, Paul and Mary
    7. Nights in White Satin – The Moody Blues
    8. Shambala – Three Dog Night
    9. Adagio for Strings – London Philharmonic Orchestra
    10. Puff, the Magic Dragon – Peter, Paul and Mary

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your list!! 🙂

      I hadn’t heard a lot of them, but I listened to all, I’m always interested in new (for me) music!

      1: loved it, added it to my playlist.
      2: I had only heard the Ugly Kid Joe-version and had no idea it was a cover. This one was sooo much better, added it!! 🙂
      3: I’d heard this but didn’t know the name. The Who is a band that I like when I listen to them, but I tend to forget about them. Ah well, added it 🙂
      4: I’ve heard some Norah Jones, but not this one. I’m not a big jazz fan though, so no adding for this one unfortunately 🙂
      5: Heard this one. It’s actually growing on me…I’ll have to think about it 🙂
      6: Hadn’t heard it, loved it, added it. Must check out other songs by them 🙂
      7: Love, love, love this song!! And I have it in multiple playlists already 😀
      8: Hadn’t heard it before. Not convinced, have to listen again 🙂
      9: I don’t really listen to classical music, but this was really beautiful. Thank you.
      10: I’ve heard OF this song, but never heard it. But Addison, it’s a terrible song!! Poor Puff!! *sob*

      “His head was bent in sorrow, green scales fell like rain
      Puff no longer went to play along the cherry lane
      Without his lifelong friend, Puff could not be brave
      So Puff, that mighty dragon, sadly slipped into his cave”

      So sad. Cried for Puff. 😭😭

      Thanks for a lot of new great songs!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

