Nell Iris

Day 21 #30DayWritingChallenge

4 Comments

What three lessons do you want your children to learn from you?

Since my daughter turns 22 in just a few days I’d say that my work mothering her pretty much is done. I realize it isn’t the whole truth, since the mothering instinct never seems to vanish, but she’s much less work now than she was when she was standing outside the bathroom door talking incessantly 🙂

But I can write about three things we wanted her to learn and that worked beautifully.

  • Knowledge is power: we’ve always encouraged education and told her that knowledge is a good thing. And she always jokes that she’s heard Knowledge is power more often than I love you, but not because we never told her we love her. No, we told her that all the time (still do), but we just happened to mention this other thing…more 😀
  • You can do anything as long as you set your mind to it: we’ve always told her we will support whatever career she chooses, we just want it to be something she chose, as opposed to the only thing she could get because of lack of education. If she wants to clean houses or be a rocket scientist don’t matter to us. We just want her to be happy. We told her that if she works hard she will be able to achieve anything and now she’s in college and has plans for a Masters degree, so I guess it worked. And we couldn’t be more proud if we tried.
  • Question everything: don’t accept Because I say so for an answer. Or It’s always been this way. Ask why. Question. Seek knowledge. When she was little I used to joke that I wish I’d never taught her this particular lesson, that I’d instead taught her to say Ja, mamma (Yes, mom) because there was a lot of why, how, what’s that sometimes drove me crazy. But then I remembered that I also ask why all the time (there’s a reason I say Google is my best friend!) and I did my best to answer her questions.

What do you think? Did we forget any important lessons? 🙂

shy 

4 thoughts on “Day 21 #30DayWritingChallenge

  1. Haha! Yes, my childhood summarized in a blog post. I sense a theme: knowledge, education, ask questions 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a fantastic set of values to have instilled in your daughter. I followed a similar path. My goals were for them to make informed choices, be nice, and to do the right thing because it’s the right thing to do and not because they’re looking for a reward or avoiding punishment. I wanted them to always feel comfortable coming to me with issues, or if something went wrong, without fear of what I might do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

