Nell Iris

A productive week

4 Comments

Last week was productive for me and I’m really happy about it. I thought I’d fill you in on what I did:

Unconditionally – edits
I finished two rounds of edits on my short story. My editor is very patient and we get along really well, and I’m waiting to hear from her if there’s going to be one more round. It’s been fun and now I look forward to the release even more. Iiiiih!! 🙂

The Locked Room – edits
I finally started editing TLR, real edits, not the baby-step variety I talked about back in November. I got it back from my betas in October and have done very little about it since, but the other day I opened the first chapter and got to work. It’s extensive edits, and I’ve also decided to change it from present tense to past tense, so I’ve got my work cut out for me. But I’ve done two chapters so far and it’s going really well.

ska%cc%88rmavbild-2017-02-03-kl-22-48-25

Lots of useful comments from one of my fabulous betas

Find His Way Home  – writing
I wrote about 9K words in my WIP last week. Yay!! My flow seems to be back, and I couldn’t be happier. I’ve also written a brief outline for the rest of the story, and if I work hard I might be able to finish it this week. If nothing unexpected happens.

A fun side-note regarding Find His Way Home: I’ve shown you the guys who inspired my characters in this story before—here’s a reminder. Both of them are real life persons (of course), and I found the guy that inspired Elliot through an account I follow on Instagram, called Symmetrybreakfast. It’s run by a man making fabulous breakfasts for his boyfriend every morning. The boyfriend is featured in Symmetrybreakfast’s Instagram-stories almost every day, eating the wonderful breakfast and doing a cute little dance, looking so happy and content I can’t help but smile. (I sound like a creepy stalker now, but the account has 661K followers, so I’m really not 🙂 ) Anyway, the first time I saw him, I thought he was cute, and when I started writing this story I remembered him and realized he would make a perfect Elliot.

That was the backstory. Now for the fun thing: this week Mr. Symmetrybreakfast and Real-Life-Elliot got married. Look at the adorableness ❤

screenshot_20170203-043910Big congratulations to the both of them! I wish them a long and happy life together, filled with fabulous breakfasts and lots of laugher!

So I guess now I know what Elliot will look like if he and Mick gets married 😉

If you’re want to read more about Symmetrybreakfast you can do it here, here or here.

I’m jealous, I want someone to make me breakfasts like that, too! 🙂

4 thoughts on “A productive week

  1. Triple yay! I can’t wait to learn Elliot and Mick’s story! 🙂

    I’m thrilled you and your editor are meshing nicely. It makes all the difference when it comes to polishing a story, doesn’t it?

    You know, putting a story aside for such a stretch, like you’ve done with TLR, is one of the best things an author can do to be able to take a fresh objective look at their own story. I’m excited about all three. It’ll be fun to be able to compare the finished stories to the earlier versions. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I was really nervous about working with the editor, but it worked out really well. The poor woman probably used up her year’s allotment of commas though…clearly I need to study the rules a bit more 🙂

      I hope you’ll like Elliot and Mick as much as I do.

      And TLR is going to be very different from when you read it. The story will still be the same of course, but the rewrites is much tighter. I’m happy about them so far. 🙂

      And IIIIIIIH! Release date is set to March 4! I have butterflies in my stomach! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m sure I will. Your characters are always likable.

        Tight is good. One thing we’re supposed to do is ask ourselves for every scene: “Does this do anything to forward the story?” And of course that can pertain to either the romance arc or whatever the background story is. Walking that line between inserting enough detail to be interesting and make the characters come to life, and too much step-by-step minutia is a challenge we all constantly battle, and it’s difficult to be objective when it’s your own story.

        Now you’ve got not only beta opinions to consider, but whatever lessons you’ve learned from your first experience with an editor to apply. Fun and busy times. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

