Nell Iris

Day 16 #30DayWritingChallenge

6 Comments

Something that you miss

Since the prompt says something as opposed to someone I guess I can’t say my daughter? 🙂

I miss spring in Sweden. In Malaysia we have rainy and dry season and it’s about 30˚C/90˚F all year round. In Sweden there’s four seasons, including a very long and dark winter that I really dislike. But when snow melts, winter finally lets go, and spring arrives—I miss that feeling.

It’s a feeling of rebirth and new hope, and light, since the sun doesn’t set as early as 3PM anymore. I love the scents and the delicate green buds on awakening trees. I love how the first flowers of spring fight their way through the remaining snow and stand brave and tall in our flower beds.

I love how everything around me returns to life.

But mostly I miss my favorite flower vitsippa (wood anemone in English according to my friend Google). They grow everywhere and I adore the sight of an entire field or forest full of them (like this or this). Every spring, me and my daughter used to go for a walk in the woods close to our house, and pick the largest bouquet of wood anemones, take pictures, climb trees, and just enjoy spring.

Now she goes for walks and enjoys them without me, but she brings her camera and takes fabulous pictures that she sends to me since she knows how much I love them. Pictures like these:

img_2015-04-30-155335

That’s what I miss most from Sweden.

How about you? Tell me about something you miss.

6 thoughts on “Day 16 #30DayWritingChallenge

  1. Beautiful image! I can never decide between spring and autumn for my favorite season. I guess because where I live both summer and winter are brutal extremes and it’s nice when they’re over.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like autumn too, at least the beginning of it when the leaves turn into all the beautiful colors, and before they fall off the trees. But I don’t like it when they do, then I get sad because I know winter’s coming and I’m not friends with the winter 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Snart är det dags igen!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful! I look forward to experiencing spring in Sweden. Winter has very been cold and dark and different from what I am used to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s why spring means so much in Sweden. After living in the darkness for so long, the light comes back and everything comes back to life. It’s incredibly beautiful, I hope you will enjoy it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

