Nell Iris

Day 14 #30DayWritingChallenge

4 Comments

Post your favorite movies that you never get tired of watching

I don’t watch a lot of movies, much to my husband’s disappointment. I used to watch a lot of movies and TV-shows, but I got tired of it. I prefer to read and create my own images. And there’s no commercial breaks in books.

However, I have some favorites, of course.

ho

I love the Harry Potter movies. I loved the books and the movies are surprisingly well made. And even if they’re full of horrible situations and evil characters they are still feel-good movies. I guess I feel that way because they’re something I’ve always shared with my daughter, so I have all these happy associations about them.

ja

Basically anything Jane Austen, but here are my favorites. To be fair this version of Pride and Prejudice is a mini-series, but I decided I was allowed to include it anyway. I mean, it has the classic Darcy-in-a-wet-shirt scene, so it would be a crime not to include it. The three first (P&P, Persuasion, and S&S) were all released in 1995, which was a very good Jane Austen year. Oh, and I adore Alan Rickman in S&S, especially in this scene when he reads to Marianne (Kate Winslet). I can feel his voice all the way down to my toes.

star-trek-movie-posters

I am a real Star Trek geek, so anything Star Trek. To be honest I prefer the TV-shows, but I like the movies too. Except maybe for number 5 The Final Frontier which isn’t great. But the new ones are great and I hope there will be more. Oh, and a new TV-show too, please!

There you go. Lots of favorite movies. What’s yours? 🙂

4 thoughts on “Day 14 #30DayWritingChallenge

  1. Finally, a list of yours that doesn’t agree with my own. Although I do intend to do so some day, I’ve neither read nor watched any of the Harry Potters. Not into Star Trek, either. Love all things Jane Austen, though, especially Pride and Prejudice. I’m happy to see you highlighted the only version worth watching. I even forgive them for making up that Darcy in the wet shirt scene that doesn’t exist in the book! 😉

    If we’re talking mini-series, like that Pride and Prejudice, I’d add Anne of Green Gables to my list. Other favorite movies…The Game, Fargo, Back to the Future, Forrest Gump, To Kill a Mockingbird, And Justice for All, The Princess Bride, 12 Angry Men, Rear Window, Groundhog Day, Saving Private Ryan, The Matrix, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, A Christmas Story, Pulp Fiction, and The Shawshank Redemption.

    Liked by 1 person

    • *gasp* Not into Star Trek? What? I’m not sure we can be friends anymore!! 😉 😀

      And Anne!! How could I forget Anne?? To my defense, the challenge was “movies” so that’s gotta be why. 🙂

      But you’re right, our tastes in movies does seem to differ. I love Pulp Fiction and The Shawshank Redemption on your list. The others…not so much 🙂 But TSR is a great, great movie!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

