Nell Iris

Day 8 #30DayWritingChallenge

8 Comments

Share something you struggle with

I struggle with my writing at the moment. This writing challenge isn’t really helping in the way I wanted it to, because once I’ve written the blog post of the day, my brain thinks AHA! You’re done!! and refuses to write more. So the writing challenge doesn’t do what I intended, i.e kickstart my writing again.

On the other hand: I AM writing every day. Just not on my WIP.

That being said, I will continue with the 30-day challenge because I’ve learned something from this. I’ll just have to find another way to trick my brain into wanting to write.

Any ideas?

8 thoughts on “Day 8 #30DayWritingChallenge

  1. It’s a vicious circle. We write blog posts and make an effort on social media in hopes of attracting interest in our stories, but then that time takes away from our book writing time/interest. No ideas, here.. I could use a few myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, but at the same time I like to blog so I don’t want to quit. It’s a double edged sword.

      I’m going to try Amy’s suggestion with the timer and finishing all the blog posts at once and schedule them. Then I can concentrate on the WIP… We’ll see if it works.

      Wanna try the timer thing with me? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m not sure I’m a good fit for the timer thing. Nothing good happens when I try to force it. I do tend to get on a roll scheduling blog posts, though. Yesterday I got three scheduled (not counting the outside promo posts). Still got to write that Friday one, though. I’m slogging through edits at the moment, so fresh writing isn’t going to happen anyway.

        Liked by 1 person

        • That’s totally fine, I didn’t mean to put you on the spot.

          And I’m with you on the forcing-thing, it doesn’t work for me either. But I think a timer would help when I’ve actually already decided to sit down and write. But it can’t be too long period of time, so that’s why I’m trying 30 minutes first. And who knows – it might not work at all. I’ll try, and evaluate! 🙂

          But today I’ve written words! So today I’m happy! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I set timers. I have to write for 45 minutes and do nothing else. then I take a break for 15. Somewhere in the second block of 45 I get myself forced in the zone.

    Perhaps write all the blog post in one or two days and then spend the other days writing in your story?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I was actually considering doing that (writing all the blog posts at once, that is). I’ve been thinking it would help, because it actually helps the writing, just not spread out like this.

      And I’ve been thinking about the timer thing too, but I might go for 30 minutes at a time. I’m going to try it! Thank you, Amy ❤

      Like

  3. And btw: talking to the two of you, Amy and Addison, discussing ideas and the craft itself helps A LOT! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

