Nell Iris

Day 2 #30DayWritingChallenge

3 Comments

Write something that someone told you about yourself that you never forgot

I can’t.
I’m not good enough.

I’m cheating the prompt a little today, because the above statements were things I said to myself and thought about myself that stuck with me for a long time. It took teaching my daughter that she can do whatever she wants if she sets her mind to it, and that she’s most definitely good enough, to learn those things for myself.

Why is it that we women are so damn prone to doubt ourselves and our own talents? Why can’t we all be a little more like Pippi Longstocking, convinced in our own ability?

But I learned along with my daughter. Now we both know we’re good enough.

 

pippi

3 thoughts on “Day 2 #30DayWritingChallenge

  1. That’s an ongoing battle for me. It’s human nature, perhaps? I remember loving Pippi Longstocking books when I was young. I’ve forgotten their lessons, I guess. Sounds like they’d be a worthy investment for my granddaughter in the future! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s much more common among women than men, though. Men are in general much more confident in their abilities and don’t doubt themselves as much as we do. I had to google it (of course I did!) and I found a super interesting article, albeit maybe the longest article in the world 😀 (it should count as a book in my Goodreads reading challenge in my opinion!). If you’re interested, here’s the link: http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2014/05/the-confidence-gap/359815/ It’s worth the time. And I think I maybe need to buy their book! 🙂

      And yes, I think Pippi would be a great investment for your granddaughter. Any book with a strong female protagonist, really, like Anne of Green Gables!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • That article looks interesting. I’ve saved it to read later when I’ve more time. I love Anne of Green Gables! I read that series as an adult. I originally got interested due to the mini-series on TV, then bought the books. I was delighted to learn it continued on much further. Anne is a fantastic role model!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

