Nell Iris

The death of a hero

2 Comments

This has been a terrible year. If we try to set aside the big orange catastrophe who won the election for a second, it has still been terrible.

I am a big music lover, I listen every day, all day, and even sometimes when I sleep. And this year has seen the death of a lot of great artists. It started with David Bowie in January and I was saddened to hear about his death. I’ve loved him since the first time I heard Heroes. I was 13 and watched Live Aid on my grandmother’s TV and was astounded by the song, his voice, but mostly his charisma.

I was sad when 80s icons Prince and Pete Burns (from Dead or Alive) died. Granted I haven’t listened to them lately but they were a big part of my teenage years when music was the most important aspect of my life.

In June, Swedish singer/songwriter Freddie Wadling passed away. He had a fantastic voice and his music had also been a part of me since my teenage years. When I read about it I was having lunch at a McDonald’s in my old home town in Sweden, and I sat there, sobbing in my fries.

But none of those deaths hit me as hard as Leonard Cohen. I woke up the day after his death and had a text from my daughter, telling me the news. I screamed NO NO NO so loud my husband came running from the home office wondering what was wrong. And then I cried.

It wasn’t a tiny little sob, it was full-blown ugly crying for at least an hour. I was heartbroken.

I’ve always loved Leonard Cohen. I have at least one of his songs in all my playlists on Spotify. I sleep to his album Ten New Songs a lot. I listen to cover versions of his songs. I read his poems.

To say he was my hero is an understatement.

This weekend I listened to one of the last interviews he ever gave and I cried. And today, more than two weeks since he passed, I listened to one of his songs and I cried.

I’ve never been affected like this by the loss of a person I’ve never met. But as a writer, an aspiring poet, and a music lover this is a great loss for me personally, and for the world.

thousands-lc

“Needless to say I am one of the fakes”

I beg to differ. I have a hard time coming up with someone more real. Thank you, Leonard Cohen. You will be missed.

2 thoughts on “The death of a hero

  1. This was a beautiful and heartfelt post. Sometimes I wish I could wake up in the morning and discover 2016 was all a dream/nightmare. *sigh* Leonard Cohen will be sorely missed. I have a number of his songs on my favorites list. He had such a way with words.

    Like

    • Yeah, this has been a nightmare year. And what’s happening after the election scares the shit out of me. Have people lost their minds?

      And thank you for your kind words. Your comments always make me happy and motivates me to write more ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

